top of page

Mr Leo va vous mettre K.O.


Comme d’habitude j’écoute de la bonne zik sur youtube : Asa, Davido, Labl, Charlotte Dipanda… Jusque là rien de spécial. Les notes de guitare et les paroles de la chanson qui suit me scotchent littéralement. ‘Nyango ééh, I go do anything for you, Baby na you be ma titulaire’. Hein? C’est peut être un nigérian qui chante ? J’ai comme un doute… ‘But everything I go gérer, I go tacler, we no go foirer’. Ah noon, ça c’est un cameeeer!!! Je regarde mon téléphone et je vois écrit Mr Leo – E go betta​. C’est la grosse claque. Un mélange de Gytian et de Flavour à la sauce camer. Un souffle nouveau, une nouvelle vibe et des paroles qui donnent la chair de cabri! ‘I go love you for life, Na for you I go die’. What? Les gars parlent encore comme ça ici dehors? Son talent m’a prise par surprise, je ne m'y attendais pas. Le pire, c'est que personne ne m’en a parlé! Wandafull ! Au moment ou j'écris, je l’écoute en boucle. Moi qui cherchais quelque chose de nouveau à écouter, j’ai découvert l’univers d’un artiste qui m’a convaincue en 3 :41. Ou est-ce qu’il se cachait? J’ai enchaîné sur les deux autres songs qui sont des tueries : On va gérer ( dernier clip sorti le 01 er novembre) et Fap kolo featuring Salatiel (lyrics super drôles!) Je vous laisse enjoy et partager au maximum pour soutenir cet artiste qui nous prouve que le talent camer est bien parti pour conquérir le monde.


5 questions to Mr Leo: 'Changes is the only constant thing in life'.


Hello ! Can you introduce yourself in some words ?

My real name IS FONYUY NSOBUNRIKA LEONARD. I was born in Buea (south west region of Cameroon) in a small military camp called "waders barracks" beside clerks quarters. My father, was in the military but now on retirement and my mother is a farmer. I Have two brothers and one sister. Grew up in Buea, did all my school there (from primary to university). As a kid I always dreamt of becoming a doctor someday. That why studied sciences in school. But because changes is the only constant thing in life, my dreams changed.


Your songs are really positive like ‘On va gérer’ and ‘E go better’. Have you personally lived those stories? And what help you to keep this ‘positive attitude’ everydayin Cameroon?

No, I have not actually lived these stories personally. My inspiration comes from stories from friends, people around me & sometimes a bit of my own personal experiences too.

Which song always makes you happy ? Why?

'E go better' is that song that always makes me happy because it's the song that changed my story.It is my 1st single, the song that made me known It talks to everyone. Just that phrase "e go better", is refreshing. Every struggling person out there wants things to get better.


Do you remember the very moment when you knew that you will be a singer?

No. Not actually. There is no moment I recall in particular that told me that 'Iam now a singer'. My progress in singing & music was a very gradual process. I have been a music lover ever since I was a kid but not for once did I see myself singing, not to talk of doing music. Started singing when I was in High School. Joined a school choir & gradually my love for singing grew up but I still didn't see myself doing music until I started going to the studio about two years after. Started by doing one demo track. So happy I finally did my own song & because one or two people appreciated, I wanted to do more & more & gradually it got bigger. But of course along the way many artist inspired me in & out of cameroon: X MALEYA, LADY PONCE, 2FACE, R.KELLY, KROTAL, JOVI and many others. So it was a very gradual process.


What can you say to those who want to sing, but are afraid to fail or lack of courage?

To all those who want to, I will always say this. # believe in yourself, get orientation, listen to advice but take your time to chose carefully what you really want to do so that you don't make the wrong choices. When you finally decide on what you really want to do, You WORK HARD towards it & PRAY HARD. Each time you make a mistake, you learn from it, each time you fall, you wake up. Believe me if you put all these together with the right attitude, nothing can stop you from getting there. The moment when music proved to be what puts food on my table, pays my rent, clothes etc that was when I left every other thing I was doing so that I can fully concentrate.​

​Thank you!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
bottom of page